Sunday, 17 March 2013

Devonport Win 2013 Steve Hudson Cup.

Tilford Zebras midfielder Ricky Self powers away in midfield.
Devonport Strikers have secured the 2013 Steve Hudson Cup with a 3-1 win over Tilford Zebras.
Devonport were 2-0 up at half time before Zebras started to come into the game.  Zebras should have been 2-1 down late in the first half after Jacob Clamp headed home a corner, however a Zebras attacker needlessly taped home the goal bound shot from an offside position and effectively disallowed the goal.
Zebras did make it to 2-1 later in the game, but Devonport closed the game out to be 3-1 winners.
South Hobart took their SPL side for the 3rd place playoff with Launceston City, and City disposed of them with relative ease, without the services of captain Shane Eagen and defender Alex Sculli who were at the Victory League Launch held in Hobart.
Riverside took early NPL Bragging rights, finishing undefeated against NPL sides having beaten Launceston, Northern Rangers and now Prospect Knights 2-0 in the Northern Premier League top match.
Rangers won their first game of the tournament thanks to the assistance of some Victory League players, with Todd Hingston, Derek Schipper, Shane Brassington and Adam McIntire.
Brassinton scored a hat trick for Rangers to help them to a 8-1 win over Launceston United in the final consolation game.
Congratulations to United again for hosting a great tournament, it’s a credit to their club.

No comments:

Post a Comment